Annual Membership Meeting

Saturday, January 28, 2017 9:28 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

We held our annual Membership Meeting January 21, and had very good turnout. We had a different format this year, with members arriving for fruit and baked goods before the business meeting. The minutes from 2016 were approved, as was the financial report from the fiscal year ending 9/30/2016. We elected Ellen Reisinger as Secretary. We also elected 4 new board members at large: Butch Andreozzi, Ryan Ford, Mollie Huber, and Raymond Starr. You can read about all the board members on our Meet the Board page. At the end of the meeting, our new logo was unveiled.


Following the business meeting, we drew for door prizes. Vera Wiatt and Judy Pair each won trips for 2 on the Skimmer, donated by Captain Tommy Moore of Rockport Birding & Kayak Adventures. Several lucky members won various items featuring photographs by our new board member Butch Andreozzi. Butch has shared photos to our Facebook page, which you can view here. By the way, you do not have to signup for Facebook to view our page.


After the meeting, we opened the program up to the public. Our featured speaker was Carrie Salyers with the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries. She gave us a fascinating presentation about the history of Whooping Cranes in Louisiana, and the current program to reestablish a flock there.


Following the program, members were offered a tour with refuge staff to some of the non-public areas of the refuge. One of the treats they had was a very good view of an Aplamado Falcon!




Our new logo




© Friends of Aransas & Matagorda Island NWR

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software